MMFF 2012 Winners: Metro Manila Film Festival Awarding Ceremonies, Nora Aunor Wins Best Actress

MANILA, Philippines – Today, Thursday, December 27, 2012 is the 2012 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Awarding Ceremonies. Hosting the event are previous X Factor PH host, KC Concepcion, and “Sisterakas” star, Kris Aquino. The event is held at the Meralco Theatre in Manila.

The Top 4 movie entries for the MMFF are:

  1. “Sisterakas
  2. Si Enteng, Si Agimat, at Si Ako
  3. One More Try
  4. Shake, Rattle, and Roll

Thy Womb” has received several awards for Best Actress, (Nora Aunor), and Best Director, (Brillante Mendoza), and the movie has been critically acclaimed and recognized in Canada, Brazil, Italy, and in other parts of the world.

It is sad that most Filipino moviegoers did not appreciate the high-caliber films, “Thy Womb” and “El Presidente.”  Apparently, movie goers just wanted to relax and have fun. People go to the movies to be entertained, and not to feel depressed about what they see.

Problems usually assail them in their daily lives that they may have wanted to forget their problems inside the movie house. This is most likely the cause of why an excellent film like “Thy Womb” did not rank on the Top 4.

Thy Womb Nora Aunor
Nora Aunor in Thy Womb /Facebook

The rest of the entries to the MMFF are: (in no particular order)

  • Thy Womb
  • El Presidente
  • The Strangers
  • Sosy Problems

Winners for the Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Awarding Ceremonies are:

Best Visual Effects – “Shake, Rattle & Roll 14: The Invasion” by Imaginary Friends and Black Burst”

Best Editing –One More Try” by Vito Kahili

Best Production Design  – “Thy WombBrilliante Mendoza

Best Theme Song  – “El Presidente” by and Jamir Garcia

Best ScoreJessie Lasaten, “El Presidente

Best SoundAlbert Michael Idioma, “El Presidente

Best Child PerformerMiguel Vergara of “One More Try

Best parade float –  “El Presidente

Youth choice award – “El Presidente

Best cinematography – “Thy Womb” by Odyssey Flores

Best Make Up – “El Presidente

Gender SensitivityShorts, Roberto PagotanManibela

FPJ Memorial Award – “One More Try” by Ruel S. Bayani

Male Star of the Night –  Joseph Estrada

Female Star of the NightNora Aunor

Best Supporting ActorCesar Montano, “El Presidente

Best Supporting ActressWilma Doesnt,Sisterakas

Five Star Celebrities of the NightZanjoe Marudo and Bianca King

Best Original Story – “Thy Womb

Best ScreenplayAnna Karenina Ramos,One More Try

Best Director –  Brillante Mendoza , ”Thy Womb

Gatpuno Villegas Award – “Thy Womb

Third Best Picture – “Sisterakas

Second Best Picture – “El Presidente

Best Picture – “One More Try”

Best ActorDindong Dantes, “One More Try”

Best ActressNora Aunor, ”Thy Womb

The award winning entries in the MMFF Awards Night 2012 did not make it good in the theaters. Best Director Brillante Mendoza stated:

“Sana naman makatulong and awards at wag na po kayong mag-pull out.” (Hopefully, the awards would help to stop you from pulling out.)

Mendoza was referring to theater owners who had previous plans of pulling out “Thy Womb” from the theaters because it has not attracted movie-goers as expected.

With “Thy Womb” garnering most of the awards, perhaps, movie fans would now troop to watch it.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!