Philippines’ Elections 2013 Results: Is it too early to proclaim the winners for the senate?

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippines’ Elections 2013 is top news again as concerned personalities said it was too early to proclaim the election results for the senate winners.

As of May 18, 2013, three more senators, namely: Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino, Antonio Trillanes IV and Aquilino Pimentel III have been proclaimed winners.

Earlier 6 senators, led by Grace Poe, were officially recognized by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) as elected senators to begin their term for 6 years on June 30, 2013.

Senatorial bets Aquilino Pimentel III and Nancy Binay had expressed their thoughts that the COMELEC should wait first for all the votes to come in before proclaiming the winners; they were two of the 9 senators acknowledged by the COMELEC to have won in the Philippines’ 2013 senate elections. These two senators should be lauded for their conscientious reaction.

However, Sixto Brillantes, the COMELEC chairman, reportedly countered that “critics could go to court,” apparently to file their complaints. It appears that the chairman is certain there would be no changes in the results of the succeeding certificates of canvass (COCs.) Reportedly, the COMELEC has canvassed 109 of the 304 certificates of canvass.

Only 3 more senate positions are left to proclaim. Vying for that position are Joseph Ejercito, Gringo Honasan, Richard Gordon, and Cynthia Villar. Among the four candidates, Richard Gordon, the “Action Man seems to have the most sterling record with regards to experience and outputs.

Grace Poe leads the polls for the Magic 12 senate seats. Her supremacy surprised most people because compared to some candidates, she is a “newbie. “ Her proclamation could not be contested because she is already a sure winner, but for the rest of the senatorial candidates, is the proclamation of the winners too early?

Philippines' Flag-elections-2013
Philippine Flag, Image credit:

As political experts said, the COMELEC should not set a record as the fastest election results in Philippines’ history, but it should safeguard the right of every voter and each of the candidates by ensuring that the May 13, 2013 results are the most reliable Philippines’ election results.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!