Philippines’ Senate Elections 2013 Winners: Complete List of Magic 12 Senators

The list of winners for the 12 senate seats in the Philippines’ Elections 2013 were finally proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) as of May 19, 2013.

The Philippines’ senate election results were surprising because of Grace Poe’s lead over all the other perceived popular candidates. Former leading senatorial candidate, Loren Legarda, came only second to Grace Poe. Alan Peter Cayetano was third, and Francis Escudero was 4th.

Sixto Brillantes, the COMELEC Chairman, proclaimed all the winners amidst protest of some sectors that it was too early to proclaim the senate winners because not all COCs were canvassed. Brillantes, reportedly, defended his actions.

Philippines' Flag-elections-2013
Philippines’ Flag -2013


The complete list of elected senators for the Magic 12 seats in the Philippines’ senate are the following: (in no particular order)

1. Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino
2. Antonio Trillanes IV
3. Aquilino Pimentel III
4. Grace Poe
5. Joseph Victor Ejercito
6. Gringo Honasan
7. Cynthia Villar
8. Nancy Binay
9. Loren Legarda
10. Alan Peter Cayetano
11. Francis Escudero
12. Edgardo Sonny Angara

The elected senators will begin their term for 6 years starting June 30, 2013. In most provinces, winners have been proclaimed already with a few candidates protesting the results.

With Grace Poe’s overwhelming support from the people, her candidacy for the 2016 presidential elections is expected by many sectors. She would be an appropriate candidate for anyone.

This undeniable fact makes one think of Grace Poe’s late father, legendary actor Fernando Poe Jr., who claimed that he was allegedly robbed of the presidency by the government of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Fernando Poe Jr. could have gotten more votes than her daughter; a food for thought for those who want to analyze the complexities of Philippine politics.

Congratulations to the Magic 12 winners- the elected senators of the Philippines’ 2013 elections.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!