Wyoming Troopers Warn Colorado Marijuana Users and Sellers: “Do not bring your Colorado purchased marijuana into Wyoming”

Wyoming Troopers issued a warning to Colorado marijuana users and sellers:

Do not bring your Colorado purchased marijuana into Wyoming.”

This warning was issued when the State of Colorado has legalized the sale and possession of marijuana on January 1, 2014. Guidelines on the use have been established to ensure that it is only for medical and recreational purposes, but the State of Wyoming has issued the warning, nevertheless.

Marijuana banned in Wyoming

Below is the text of the warning issued to Colorado marijuana users and sellers that is circulating on social media sites, such as Facebook.

“DO NOT BRING YOUR COLORADO PURCHASED MARIJUANA INTO WYOMING Cheyenne – The new law that went into effect January 1st in the State of Colorado making possession of marijuana legal to sell and possess in that State has generated many questions to our office from the media. The Wyoming Highway Patrol has no plans to increase patrols on highways near the state line to look for those transporting marijuana into the State from Colorado. It will be business as usual for the Troopers who always are on alert for any criminal activity. The bottom line, any amount of marijuana in either dried or in plant form in the State of Wyoming is illegal to possess. Individuals who have in their possession 3 ounces or less may be charged with a misdemeanor violation that carries a penalty of imprisonment for not more than 12 months, a fine of not more than $1,000.00 or a combination of both. If found with an amount of marijuana over 3 ounces an individual will be charged with a felony which can result in imprisonment for not more than 5 years and/or a fine of not more than $10,000.00. Just like alcohol, it is unlawful to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance. A conviction of driving while under the influence of a controlled substance can get you imprisonment for not more than 6 months and/or a fine of not more than $750.00. Possession of drug paraphernalia is also a violation in the State of Wyoming. Troopers did see a slight increase in misdemeanor violations near the Colorado/Wyoming border when the State of Colorado allowed medical marijuana to be legally possessed.”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.